The legendary Monty Python live at the O2 arena

Last week London’s power to entertain proved itself yet again by hosting a supreme show to mark the end of an era on one of the world’s finest and most successful comedy shows, Monty Python. I got lucky and was offered a last minute ticket which would have been criminal to refuse!

The live Monty Python show was the nations very last chance to see comedy legends John Cleese, Terry Gilliam, Eric Idle, Terry Jones and Michael Palin perform on stage (tributes to Graham Chapman).

Much to the surprise of the middle aged men I joined for the show (I’m an ’88 baby), I love a bit of Monty Python and was in fits of laughter and tears for most of the show. The Python’s politically-incorrect, surreal, outrageous scripts are simply not seen in our over-approved 2014 comedy, which just exaggerates the hilarity of it all for me. They walk a very fine line between genius and insanity to intelligently create this lovely pile of filth!

Monty python live success on stage tour review
The O2 Arena in all it’s glory

Classic scenes were extravagantly rolled out using armies of background dancers, pre-recorded sketches (ft. Stephen Hawking) and phenomenal orchestration, creating an absolute spectacle.  It was non-stop hit-after hit rendition of their finest comedy material and I bloody loved it! I saw ‘Spam’ and a ‘Christmas hymn in heaven’, ‘The Spanish Inquisition’, ‘Dead Parrot’, ‘Meaning of life’, ‘The Ministry of Silly Walks’ and so they kept on coming…  until an outstanding final performance of ‘Always Look On The Bright Side Of Life’ – it got pretty emotional in our box at this stage.

Monty python live success on stage tour review
Hip hip hip hip hip hip hooray Every single day Is Christmas day
Monty python live success on stage tour review
“Bruces’ Philosophers Song
Monty python live success on stage tour review
The Flying Circus sketch “Now let me fill you in. I’m leading this expedition and we’re going to climb both peaks of Mount Kilimanjaro”
Monty python live success on stage tour review
The Penis Song – one of the most energetic scenes!
Monty python live success on stage tour review
The Lumberjack song “I cut down trees, I eat my lunch, I go to the lavatory, On Wednesdays I go shopping”

Eric Idle stole the show for me, without a single stumble or a word out of place and looking fit as a fiddle, which couldn’t quite be said for the rest of the cast but with a combined age of 378, expectations were capped.

Monty python live success on stage tour review
Me favourite man Eric Idle

There was heaving laugher throughout from the passionate O2 arena crowd in the knowledge they would never see such scenes ever again in their lives. The show truly was one of a kind which I will certainly remember forever. I feel extremely privileged to have watched the most influential comedy troupe of all time.

Monty python live success on stage tour review
I was a very lucky girl

x The London Whistler x

http://www.montypythonlive.com

What did you think?

