REX & MARIANO, SOHO

The concept of Soho’s brand new Rex and Mariano is to offer a premium yet pocket friendly seafood menu.  ‘Rex’ is a fishmonger, ‘Mariano’ is a Sicilian foodie, their venture is backed by Goodman’s group of our much loved Beast & Burger & Lobster – so there’s your answer to how they’re able to offer great fish at bargain prices. My friend Lily and I visited last week and can now vouch that they have indeed achieved precisely what they set out to do, and us Londoner’s who love fish but can’t stomach Scott’s triple figure bill should be extremely grateful. In pictures: Rex & Mariano review menu Rex & Mariano review menu Rex & Mariano review menu Rex & Mariano review menu Rex & Mariano review menu Rex & Mariano review menu   Rex & Mariano review menu Rex & Mariano review menuRex & Mariano review menu During my 15 minute wait for Lily I got to know Rex & Mariano very well. I begun chatting with the manager about the progress of the restaurant, and their shift from entirely replying on the ipad ordering system to a more personalized service having received feedback that the ipads were confusing – I couldn’t agree more. I want attention and the option to ask questions and talk to a face. However when serving a menu like theirs, at those prices you can forgive them for cutting labour cost. A chirpy waitress then gave me an energetic tour of each station; breads, kitchen, bar, washbasins – each one with it’s own element of innovation. I was ushered through the open plan kitchen into the back of house kitchen by a very passionate chef to taste the sublime slow-cooked oven-smoked rib of beef he was experimenting with and samples of the various starters he was curating. What a whirlwind start to the evening. I’ve never had such a warm welcome, anywhere! Rex & Mariano review menu Rex & Mariano review menu And what admirable teamwork! Staff behave like mates in a class room, they’re chatty laid back yet extremely confident. There wasn’t a moody face in the entire restaurant from neither staff nor customer; it’s a real pick-me-up place. Rex & Mariano review menu Thank you Rex & Mariano, for now we can eat tuna ceviche, salmon tartare & lobster Carpaccio casually on a Monday night! PHEW! I feel utterly spoilt and I know I will struggle to find such a warm welcome anywhere else in London. Rex & Mariano review menu x The London Whistler x Rex & Mariano on Urbanspoon Square Meal

4 thoughts on “REX & MARIANO, SOHO

  1. Its a brave concept. BUT it works. I dropped in last night and found the Room we set out with punters in the pit and the stations around the outside food well portioned and even better priced. The I-pad ordering system was a hit and can I am certain can be developed above and beyond getting you requirements to each station. Voting for music choice, live customers comments, dating??
    Downsides – deserts?? – the lack lustre slabs of bread belonged more to the workhouse than a foodhouse. Great for parties , great for tapas style eating and big value for Soho.

    1. Im pleased you gave it a go. Great ideas with the app, photo uploads and lighting also.. Could be very fun. I think it’ll be a big hit in Soho- once people have actually found it! Its quite hidden. Next time you’ve had a great meal in London, you can be my gueat blogger 😉

What did you think?

